Conceal Carry

Alabama Gun Laws

Alabama concealed carry laws are liberal and allow concealed carry permits to be issued at the county level.
Applications can be made at the local Sheriff's office in your county of residence.
Applicants must be at least 19 years or older and meet other criteria although there is no requirement for a firearms training course.
The application process in Alabama is fairly easy and the sheriff must either grant or deny your application for a permit within 30 days of your submission.
Fees for new CCW permits and renewals vary across counties. Some counties will notify holders of permits that they are due for renewal, however there are also counties that will not contact you at all.
Image

Alabama CCW Quick Facts

Carry In Vehicle

Must Notify Officer

Carry In State Parks Allowed

No Weapons Signs Enforced

Open Carry Permitted

Carry In Liquor Establishments

Constitutional Carry

License Issued To Residents

Alabama Handgun Permit

  • Must be at least 19 years of age.
  • Reside in the county where you file the application
  • Have no convictions of violence
  • Must be a US citizen or legal alien.
  • Must not be a drug addict or habitual drunkard.
  • Must be of sound mind and not have been involuntarily admitted to psychiatric or drug treatment facility.
  • Federal Law Requirements

Note
Under Alabama law a person with any of the following convictions are banned from possessing a weapon;
Murder, manslaughter, rape, mayhem, assault with intent to commit robbery or murder, robbery, burglary, kidnapping, any class A or B felony.

Follow these steps to obtain a permit;

  1. Obtain the application form from your local county Sheriff.
  2. Complete the form.
  3. Submit your application to the Sheriffs Office in the county you reside in.
  4. You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
  • You must renew an Alabama Pistol Permit before it’s expiry date.
  • The renewal can be done by your local County Sheriff.
  • Some counties will advice you in advance that your permit needs to be renewed. However, do not rely on a renewal notice being sent as not all counties send out reminders.

Renewal fee’s vary between counties.

You can select how long the permit is valid for, 1-5 years. Fees are set by the local Sheriff and are around $20 per year. They do vary between counties but are similar to the fees here for Shelby County;

Years Permit required Original Renewal
1 $20 $20
2 $40 $40
3 $60 $60
4 $80 $80
5 $100 $100

Alabama Reciprocity Map

Created with Raphaël 2.0.1ALAK AZ ARCACOCTDEDCFLGAHIIDILINIAKSKYLAMEMDMAMIMNMSMOMTNENVNHNJNMNYNCNDOHOKORPARISCSDTNTXUTVTVAWAWVWIWY
The Armory © 2019 All Rights Reserved